I LIKE IT DANG IT

This new song is not perfect by any means (updated below, previous post).  However I have decided there is value in it, if only because it is such a change of pace for me.  My friend (everyone but me remains anonymous on this blog, totally anonymous; we’ll just call him “J” for the sake of convenience) said the song other day was like a typical song by me, and I think I knew what he meant: really plodding, and heavy in the minor key.  What can I say?  I like sad songs; I was probably a closet goth as a younger lad.  But anyway: even though this song remains contemplative as are most all of my songs, nevertheless I think there’s something a little jazzy about this song that I usually don’t explore.  I also think this song would’ve never happened if I had not written it on the fly while recording.  It’s just not the sort of thing I would usually jam on by myself in the bedroom at night.  I mean, as of right now I can’t even play it and sing it at the same time.  I’m not coordinated enough, though with a bit of practice it should be easy enough to do.

You know what else, though?  I think I would have never written this song without having first listened to this guy from my hometown named Seth Shirah. Seth and I are old friends from high school and church choir, and I got a collection of songs by Seth the other day from another friend.  I have no idea what the song titles are, and I’m not good on piecing together lyrics, especially since he has what I’ll call a sort of “stylized” singing voice.  I don’t know if it’s the sort of music I could sit down and jam to, I haven’t tried that yet, but I did fall in love with the third song on the playlist, and I feel like I’ve definitely been influenced by a few others.  I doubt he would agree that our music sounds very alike in any respect, but I feel at least like I cribbed a bit of his dramatic quality before I started into this one, and that’s a good thing.

Now, enough about me.  If you care to hear one of his tunes, I ripped that CD to my PC, so feel free to take a listen.

i don’t know what he’s singin or what it’s called but i like it, by seth shirah

On the whole, I’m pleased with things.  I’m a bit lonely (OK, wife, kids: time to come home now) but other than that I feel like the weekend has been a success.  I got done all the things I planned to do.  On top of that I got to watch a great movie called The Wrestler, which I highly recommend if you haven’t seen it yet.  It is so raw, I couldn’t believe I was getting choked up at the end for this ridiculous wrestler character.

C-ya, would not care to be ya.

2 Responses to “I LIKE IT DANG IT”


  1. 1 "J" May 14, 2009 at 8:32 am

    For clarification purposes, the reference in this May 9 blog of how I characterized your latest song as “typical you” seems to come across as though it is a negative comment, when in fact it is not, and very far from it. Typical you is not typical at all. Heavy in the minor key IS you. Plodding? Maybe, but not always.

    I suppose all of these terms (i.e. typical, heavy in the minor, & plodding) just struck me as negative.

    I figure if I’m going to be referenced in this blog, I may as well join it & speak up for my damn self. Nothing negative coming from my end. I’m glad to be hearing JAB’s music again; minor keys, fucked up distorted voices/guitars, & all. Keep it comin’!

    Thanks for listening,
    “J”

    • 2 bootsinowski May 14, 2009 at 8:49 am

      Fair enough and fair enough!

      To be honest, of course I’m looking for praise. Who doesn’t? But I’m trying to rise above it and take some criticism where I can get it. And of course when you said “Songs in the Key of Minor” I thought to myself, you know, that’s not necessarily a critique, but I can see some sense in it. And so the next song came out a little happier, which doesn’t mean I’m now the next Weird Al Yankovic, but for me, it was a little happier. And that’s good, because as strange a song as it is, I like the way it turned out.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

