Uh Huh Hey Hey Huh Hey

– any number of songs by Buddy Holly.

I wish that these recordings would do better.

This is another retread of one of my old songs from the late 90’s.  Most of the stuff I’m into now is an offshoot of this earlier folksier stuff so to me it still seems relevant, although I have no idea how I would go about marketing this sort of sound.  I am not, repeat, NOT a country and western kinda guy.  But I like the sort of camptown sound that this tune has.  This is just the first rough vocal mix, once I get some time to really concentrate on it, you’ll hear the vocals increase both in note precision and also in harmony complexity. This is the sort of sloppy guitar sound that begs for a precise vocal, and it is hard to pull off, especially when trying to record it.

Not to be a contrarian, but I wonder whether or not the song needs a change from the old days.  I tried to do it with Require (the last song) but got stuck in a mire of re-takes, and now I feel like I’m going to just have to scrap it and start over.

Anyway these are all issues for another time.  You, my careworn dears, look like you all could use a nap.  As could I.

0 Responses to “Uh Huh Hey Hey Huh Hey”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

