Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.

Bruce Lee, in Enter the Dragon.

Meditation is kind of the topic for me tonight.  I recorded a song with meditation in mind.  It’s probably crap, as it’s not the sort of thing most people would sit down and listen to.  It’s too slow even for me to get into, but it was a great relaxing experience, and surprisingly easy.  You’ll know what I’m talking about when you hear it.

I hear the influence of two of the best bands ever in this one: Radiohead and Cocteau Twins.

Without reference to its overall qualitative value – because that is questionable – you’d think it would be a very hard song to do.  The words and melody for the verse are almost random.  Speaking of that, here are the lyrics (because I know my diction has always sucked):

my stamp upon it
damaged as you want it
i know the words as well as
i know the scene (2x)

another angle of view
like a heads up display
worn-down string for a brand-new candle

hands out front

lights up the dark (3x)

It’s just a plain odd progression of notes, and even though the words don’t mesh together very well, I find them revealing in the sense that a Rorschach test might reveal some hidden image, depending on the inclination of the viewer/listener.  I don’t know; sorry if it’s not your bag; it’s not really my thing either, but it was fun to simply sit down with nothing in mind and just rip out a song, even as an abstract exercise in harmony-making. It was great to give myself a challenge like that and actually see it through in one evening, because most of the time it takes me several days to put something together, even if I’ve been playing it and singing it for years and years.

It’s funny to me now, thinking back on the previous seven years or so.  I just up and left the whole music thing alone for awhile.  Probably went more than three years without even picking up a guitar, and without even very much liking for listening to music at all.  Imagine guilt must have been behind most of it, because I had such a hard time finding a decent job while my family sort of suffered through it, and while my wife worked the entire time.  It’s not that it would have caused trouble, my playing: I mean, I’m not about to go on tour or anything; hell, nobody around here even knows that I play at all.  So I guess it was just some psychological thing, really.  Well, for the moment at least, that’s over, and even though the change doesn’t fix all the other stuff that I’d change if I could, at least it’s a start.  A pretty good one, actually.

0 Responses to “Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

