In which our author switches to hip-hop.

I was just feeling silly tonight – I’m feeling rather good for someone who had a terrible day filled with expenses that I just can’t afford – so I decided to mess around a bit in MIDI loop-making.

Q: Can you guess where this tune comes from?

A: It’s the backbeat for one of the world’s best commercials.

I first discovered this song about two years ago through my wife, and unlike most of the rest of the world, I still can’t get it out of my head.  For one thing, it’s as good-natured as can get; there’s literally nothing about it that is cynical or jaded, even though it is probably making that guy a lot of money now (but this is a good thing).  For another, the song is catchy, a two-bar riff and this guy singing over it with very little regard for the beat.  I love a good accidental masterpiece, and this is a prime example.  Anyway I got bored so I recreated it in Ableton, and had a good time doing so.

Another thing I have had some fun doing lately is discovering the joys of panning.  As in, “my god these vocals are mushy, what can I do to bring them out?”  Well, I found out that in fact you bring them out by separating them to the left and right (with the main melody remaining in the center, most times).  And of course, the same goes for the bass and rhythm parts. It seems so obvious now but I tend to think of my monitors as a monolith, or like a wall of sound, but of course in reality one has from two to seven separate channels to work with.  Now that I know this, I’m going to start working on an a capella piece that I’ve sort of been toying with for the last little bit, as I think it might turn out really well. It’s not pure voice, as there will probably will be some kind of minimalist backbeat to it but still, now that I know this panning trick I’m not afraid to break out the big guns anymore.

1 Response to “In which our author switches to hip-hop.”


  1. 1 anxiety attack heart May 28, 2013 at 4:28 am

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also go to see this web site on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest information.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

