With apologies to little girls everywhere.

New song here.

Well, first of all I promise I’m not some deranged lunatic.

I just got it in my head the other day that I should do some kind of A Capella ditty, not because my voice warrants that kind of treatment, but more because it’s a great way to write songs.  It has that same kind of spontaneity in recording, and is really challenging at the same time.  So what to sing about?  Well.

I decided, first of all, I’m not going to do yet another lamentation on love unrequited.  That’s just been done to death, and honestly I don’t have it in me since, by all measures, things are pretty good here on that front.  So I went back to my youth: what’s a great thing to sing about when you don’t have any other ideas?  Child abduction, of course.  Wha?   It’s a long story, but yeah, for various reasons (none of which are really worth getting into), that seems to be a kind of role that is fun to play for a singer.  I knew I wanted this one to have sort of a middle-eastern-tribal-cum-Josquin Desprez sort of feel, and since I don’t know how to sing in Farsi, I figured why not just do something a little insane.  And so I did, and it is.

Take it or leave it, I think it turned out appropriately creepy, and was fun to do, although the last thirty seconds of it are pretty sloppy.  I am pleased with the lyrics, which are here:

hello little girl
would you like some candy
(cause my candy is really very handy
many flavors & many brands)
i noted you as you approached the van

these treats is so motherfucking good
you think you shouldn’t but i know you should

reach out here to me
that gleam you see
is not handcuffs
that gleam you see is not
come back here!
come back here –

oh no she got away
(where did she
where did she go now)

I’m just overjoyed that I finally seem to have found a good way to keep the high-end of my vocals without sacrificing too much gain.  That took me, 0h, around two months to figure out, and now of course I want to go back and fix all the previous stuff I’ve done, but I’ll save that for later.

Anyway, where did the time go?  I started this jig at 12:30, and now it’s almost 3:00 in the morning.  Bye now!

0 Responses to “With apologies to little girls everywhere.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

