Tiny Review, Epic Movie: The Road

Well I just finished watching The Road.

It was bleak. A sad thing happened at the end and it made me cry. I mean, I’ve gotten teary-eyed at movies before but this was just an atrocious festival of woe.  I felt on the edge of some kind of horrible breakdown at one particular point.  So, it was emotionally very effective, in other words.

In the end, I feel better having watched it, there was a lot of great imagery (if your favorite color is grey, this is your movie) although, just like I felt when I read the book, the very end was just too much fairyland nonsense for me to buy. As much as I want to believe that things happened the way they did in the last five minutes, I just can’t get there.  I feel almost as if the ending was made the way it was just so people wouldn’t actually kill themselves over this book, I mean in really real life.

So, bleak, yes, but still worth watching, if one has the stomach for it.  I’m not sure everyone does.

My wife, who pretty much refuses by default to watch this movie (just as she refused to read the book on the grounds that it would probably kill her), has asked me before why I like this genre (post-apocalypse) and although it’s not something I’ve thought very much about, I guess I probably like it because it reminds me of the triviality of my own problems. So for those of us in the need for some perspective in trying times, The Road may be the movie of the year.

And also, Viggo Mortensen is my hero and if I were a woman, I would gladly have his children, apocalypse or no apocalypse.

1 Response to “Tiny Review, Epic Movie: The Road”


  1. 1 T Brantley January 20, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Jason,

    I have not read the book or seen the movie, but I will as soon as it comes to dvd. I, too, am a fan of Viggo; he is an awesome actor and always gives a great performance.

    I did recently see “The Book of Eli”, though. And I’ve heard that there are similarities between the two. I heartily recommend this movie. Some might argue that it is a religious movie, but I didn’t see as that way. In fact, there is a line in there uttered by Denzel where he says that the apocalypse was probably caused by religion. I read a few interviews with him about the film, and he said he took it because of the man’s (Eli) spiritual walk. He was also quick to point out the difference between spirituality and religion (which in ways to, me, at least can seem to be a gaping chasm), and Gary Oldman’s character represents the dynamics of the dogma and control through manipulation of the ‘word’ (a road that, unfortunately, religion has taken one too many times). Anyway, I’ve been running a tangent here. Check it out if you get the chance as Denzel and Gary give command performances (as usual).

    Thanks for writing a review of “The Road”; you have piqued my interest in the film even more.

    Later, Bro.
    “T”


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

