A post to cover the month of September, because I’ll feel like a chump if I don’t.

Gotta get in at least one post a month.  It’s funny how I weave in and out of blog productivity.  Almost like I have a life or something.  Almost.

I’ve been mired in Fall semester classes for several weeks now at ASU, here in awe-inspiring, historic Augusta, GA.  Man alive, it’s only two classes but it’s going to be harder than I thought to get all A’s this time around.  I’ve got two professors (make that one professor, and one BROfessor), both of them are relatively new adjuncts here, and both seemingly have the agenda of proving themselves to be hardasses in order to get better positions athe University.  Well, I can sympathize with their plight a little bit: I know academic life is a tough slog and is why even though I think I would be well-suited for academia, I’ll probably avoid the temptation just to keep things profitable in other areas of my life.  But I thought I could just BS my way through these classes and get As.  I think Bs are definitely doable with a minimum of effort, but in the paper I got back from my english class yesterday, dude actually called me out for having “an eloquent pen but not much to say here”.  He’s totally right, too!  I don’t have much to say because the part of the text I picked to expound upon was a crappy choice, and I can see that I’m going to have to choose more wisely next time.

Writing is such a finicky endeavor for me, and the main reason my posts here are so short is because I can easily get to this stage of narrative where even I don’t believe the bullshit I’m going on about. And if I’m getting to that point, I figure what’s the use of trying to get anybody else on board the tripe-mobile with me when there are better things to do.  Well, writing for school has proven to be no different, because I had to literally force myself to continue to write just to make the 1500-word requirement for the assignment.  I’m probably the lamest English major of all time, because even though I have a passion for good books and am a pretty strong writer myself, I find it fairly difficult to wrap me brainbox around the idea of Criticism as a Serious Pursuit.  Mayhap I’m not a Serious Person, and if so please forgive the impertinence, there’s a good chap; but I just think the best critics are people like Roger Ebert, who have been able to sythesize criticism and autobiography in such an awesome way that, in some of his finer examples of long form writing, Ebert is actually able to surpass the object of his criticism.  People who read Ebert will know what I mean by this, he is a master of the subjective narrative and I think in a hundred years, while we may not still care about James Cameron, we will still be reading Ebert’s reactions to him.

None of this is to say, “oh, if only they’d give me free reign, I’d tear some criticism up and have it screaming my name”, because I don’t think that’s the case.  I appreciate the fact that school is a structured environment where you sometimes have to do things you don’t necessarily find to be intellectually fulfilling.  I get it.  But passing over the noble arguments about ideal educational approaches, the hard truth is that my GPA sucks, so I have to start making some As in a hurry so I can get past the sins of my younger days, and it’s a tad discouraging to me that I’ll be upset if I end up with Bs instead.

I hope I haven’t jinxed myself by complaining.  I’m going to have to take a look at this post again in December.  If I end up with Cs I swear to Baby Jesus I’m going to cry bitter bitter tears.  Thank God for vodka.

1 Response to “A post to cover the month of September, because I’ll feel like a chump if I don’t.”


  1. 1 Jeannie September 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Is this really all that happened in your life in September?


Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Currently Reading:

Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame - Charles Bukowski

Currently Listening:

Mr. Bungle - California

Why, yes, I am cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce.

You lika de juice????

